• +923 343206 986
  • Contact@btrams.com
  • Pakistan

Imran Khan Has Been Ousted As the Prime Minister of Pakistan Through a No-Confidence Motion

ISLAMABADIn a historic first for Pakistan, Imran Khan has been ousted as the prime minister of Pakistan from office through a no-confidence motion after the National Assembly debated on the matter for more than 12 hours and the political situation in the country took a critical turn.

The session was chaired by Ayaz Sadiq — a member of the panel of chairs —  after speaker Asad Qasier resigned from his post.

“174 members have recorded their votes in favour of the resolution, consequently the resolution for the vote on no-confidence against Mr Imran Khan, the prime minister of Pakistan, has been passed by a majority,” Ayaz Sadiq announced after the process of voting was completed.

The development came after the session was called at 10:30am — in line with the Supreme Court’s decision — and witnessed at least four breaks with the government seeking some way out of the situation, but in the end, the Opposition was able to get their way.

There were many deliberations that the Chief of Army Staff Qamar Javed Bajwa might be replaced, but Imran Khan refuted the reports, and nothing of the sort took place.

Imran Khan was elected on August 18, 2018, and his term ended on April 10, 2022. He remained in office for 3 years 7 months 23 days.

Two prime ministers — Benazir Bhutto and Shaukat Aziz — had faced the no-confidence motion, but both of them defeated the move and remained in power, making Imran Khan the first premier to be voted out — on the day when Pakistan marks Constitution Day (April 10)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *